Log



Direction and Development of osakaOS

After returning to development of my operating system I've been doing a lot of thinking about where I wanted to take the project. I'm currently working on the windowing system and other GUI related things, which also happens to intersect with multitasking and memory etc. I can't really start going crazy with code until I work out the underlying architecture of what I want to make, and it seems more and more that what that is, doesn't align with what a lot of people are likely expecting from a hobby OS.

I have recieved quite a few requests to port specific software, everything from Doom, to Wayland (you know who you are), and other software for OS's with Unix/POSIX/Userspace standards. I've thought about reforming code and writing abstraction layers to comply with specific standards and such, but in the end, I decided that I would keep going the way I've been going. osakaOS is meant to be a fun and creative project that does things in unconventional ways. I believe bending backwards to implement some protocol or feature that exists just to satisfy certain expectations of what a hobby OS should have, would not be productive. This is not because of the requests for ports I've mentioned earlier, I just believe it wouldn't fall in line with the design philosophy and standard I've set so far.

I will still follow through with any promises I've made so far and will still try to make the highest quality end-product I can. Also, this doesn't mean I won't implement any given functionality or features such as multitasking, userspace, networking etc. at some point, it just means that I will make them work in a way that I think fits the project (just like I have so far with the GUI). I want osakaOS to be a sandbox for people to play around in and make cool things in, trying to make it like other OS's that replicates a general purpose computing platform for common users would be outside of this projects focus imo.




If you have read this far, know that I'm working on a version 1.1 with added customization options, bug fixes, and other features that build on top of whats already available in version 1.0. It probably won't come out until I release the first video but I'll make a seperate video going over the changes when that time comes. Also here's a thumbnail I made for the first video when it does come out. There has been more than enough log posts on the same topic so I think I'll stop talking about osakaOS until then. Next post will be about Leechplus Radio and original music stuff. Thank you. =)